Friday, June 24, 2011

bad training week..Vacation next week

I hope I don't have to say this too much, but I didn't run, bike or swim this week. I still have my cough when I do cardio or even laugh. I had run four miles last week, but my lungs just weren't in it. I'll have to look into research on training sick and or with injuries. My shoulder still hurts enough that I can't swim or bike. I should have ran this week. Instead I played softball and lifted weights. The weights get me breathing heavy but trigger the cough spasm. Being sick sucks and injuries are no good either, both at that same time.. I hate it. The sickness had caused me to miss work with a 102 fever, so its better than that now. The injury to my shoulder was obtained playing softball and diving into base. Boys are stupid sometimes it would seem, but I was safe. I did keep my diet and actually lost 3lbs. I'm just 3 lbs my target weight now.
Injury training with triathlon is always seems possible. I my shoulder hurts, I can run, if my legs hurt, I can swim. I can usually swim and ride sore as well. I'm just a wimp runner. But it does seem like there are a lot of options work our injury.
So after my bad non training week and good diet week, I'm about to go on vacation. I'm hoping I get good chance to run on vacation and take in some new scenery. I also brought my ab and cardio workouts on my iphone. I'm sure my diet and weight will take a hit. So as I got so close today, I need to try to keep myself close to where I am now. If I get in some good running it should be ok. Swimming in the ocean while not laps or for any distance, I will get my arms moving if I can in open water. I haven't been out for any open water swims yet this year.

Good luck in your training. Let me know if you train sick or with injury.

Monday, June 20, 2011

Eating problems...

Me.. no.. I don't have eating issues... Its just three beers during softball, 2 chicken soft taco's and some ice cream to top it off.. Wow.. There goes an entire week of food in one night. My first thought it how could you eat enough food in one night to gain back an entire weeks losses, but then I know it will happen.. I'll be the same speed.. I'll just be heavier... But that cookie dough.. so good :)

The Goal - Surive the 70.3

I want to run a half-ironman. Probably in Muncie, In because that one is close. Its part of the 70.3 series and can be a qualifier for Kona, but I'm too worried about that. Survival may not be the best goal but I just want to do it. I was a swimmer in highschool and a recreational touring biker back then. I simply can't run. Until I started training for the triathlon, I had never run further than a mile at one time. I had walked maybe 2, but never did a 5k.
I ran my first sprint triathlon at Eagle Creek, IN. I'd say I liked it, but my experience wasn't so good. After getting out of the water rested in the top 100, I tried for the first time to get wet socks on my feet. I was about last in that transition, I was a newbie. Towards the end of the bike I got a flat.. and oh yeah it was raining. Fixed the flat and kept going to the run, which starts out up hill on this course. I think I did the 5K in about 35mins. That time I realize isn't good enough to do very well in any sprint triathlon.
I would need to work on my running to get anywhere, so I started entering 5K races and really only trained my run. I also decided I needed to loose some weight, and stop carrying around the extra baggage. In the off season I did P90x. Yes, I'm a P90X surviver in my late 30's - Bring It!. I dropped about 15 lbs doing that and improved my 5K to ~31 mins. Still not fast. Over the next year, I still only trained the run but I started to do longer runs. I soon realized that I could run a 31min 5K and 62min 10K and 93min 15K. I also seemed to be able to keep this pace after the swim and bike. I was never going to be a sprinter was my conclusion, heck, I'll never be competitive at a longer triathlon either, but more distance seemed a better way to go, and I wanted to finish the 70.3. It just seemed awesome and attainable. The swim in the sprint is too short. Even if I swam hard and beat 50 more people, you could only get maybe 60 seconds out of it, and the runners are killing that 5k as you know.
I did a few more sprint tri's to get out some of the newbie quarks, and I'm doing another one this year. The calendar didn't work for Muncie this year. I have done a few half-marathon's to get the feel for that run distance. They were fun and after my last one, I worked out the next day. To me that I finished the half-marathon at all is amazing. I never thought I would ever run that far in my life. Now I just need to swim some and bike little, and then run that far.
My most recent step was to buy the Triathlete's Training Bible. Which brings me to this blog. It says keep a journal of what you do and tell people about your goal. So I have this blog. Its to keep me honest in how I train, what I eat and remind me of my goal. If someone else reads this and gets interested in the sport or just thinks if this guy can do it, I can do it, that will be great too. If there are some comments on how I can do what I'm doing better that would be fantastic. Right now, I realize, I just need to train more consistently. All the good food and intentions mean nothing if you don't train consistently. With that, I'm off soon on a vacation, where I probably won't train at all. So life happens.

Weekends can be hard

Over the weekend I did my Chalean workouts. I tried to keep the Special K diet. I ate a few 'bad' things like a muffin. I didn't do any cardio. I still can't swim with my shoulder pain. That stinks, but I should get out run. The rain has been pretty bad. So bad my basement flooded. That was a distraction as well. Maybe I'll get out to run today, but its still raining. Indoor bike trainer may be a good option.
I'm also still feeling sick. I had been feeling tired on the Special K diet. Not too much surprise there, so I had the full 2 scoop Monster milk after my workout. One good thing about the diet I will say is that I don't feel hungry.
I really just need to get some cardio in soon before vacation.