The sprint triathlon is over. So much training for 1:13 of run. As is par for the course for me it rained, but only a little bit. It was my first time on my new bike in the rain, so I was little worried. The event was a Fishers FAST triathlon, in Fishers, IN. Its a 500 meter swim in a pool, a 10M bike and 3M run. Its also a really flat course. So between the pool and flat course I expected it to be fast. I haven't seen all the results yet, but there was supposed to be about 500 people.
I was able to start in the first wave of swimmers. I'm very glad I did this, but wish that I had pushed up to the front more before the start. I got a little caught in traffic and had to pass a couple of people, but another swimmer did pass me and we were 3 wide in a pool lane. That did sort of give me the lake effect. The flip turns were really awkard for me and definitely slowed me down, but still had to be faster than an open water swim. I didn't like jumping in to start or climbing out to finish either. So I'd say I wasn't a fan of the pool swim, but I can see why people like it. If you are a novice swimmer this is a great safe place to start.
The transition was setup better for people who started early, and our bikes were closer to the pool and bike exit. That should mean faster transition times, less times walking on biking shoes, since I didn't pre clip them. I also took time to put on socks. If I'm ever withing 30 seconds of 3rd place in my division, I'll skip the socks, but that day is not today. Or any time soon actually. The bike course was flat as expected. I did almost wipe out on one turn. I hit a rock during the turn and the ground was wet. On the bike a motorcycle cut me off and blocked me out so I passed him on the left and got a penalty. Ticked me off that I need to pass a motorcycle on the course and they couldn't stay out of the racers way.
The run seemed like it was all uphill. My legs did the brick cramp as soon as I started moving. I did walk a little trying to get the cramp out and just keep moving. A few people were passing me on the run as I expected, but still less than I thought. I don't know my splits but I feel like I ran considerably faster.
A 42 year old won, and with like a 49 year right behind him. That's a tough age bracket. Overall I think it was a lot fun. Girlfriend came with me, but she started the swim about 45mins after me, so I really didn't see her at all at the event. I did meet up with a friend and we talked for a while, we cheered girlfriend into the bike transition and then waited at the finish line for her. I missed her finish because at the exact moment she was coming in a judge was talking to me about the penalty. After waiting there, I totally missed it! I can't believe that.
Rest today, I guess we starting tomorrow :)
No comments:
Post a Comment